

15 08 2022

Dear members of the Israel Mathematical Union,

We are happy to share with you some great news.

First, we are proud to report the most impressive achievements of the Israeli universities students' delegations to the International Mathematical Competition for University Students (IMC): Tel-Aviv University's team is ranked 1st among all the teams, the Weizmann Institute team ranked 6-th, Bar-Ilan University's team ranked 23-rd and the Technion's team ranked 27-th. In addition, many Israeli students won first prizes:

- Ido Karshon (WIS) and Noam Tashma (TAU) won grand grand first prizes,
- Shvo Regavim (TAU), Lior Hadassi (TAU), Yuval Salant (WIS) won grand first prizes,
- Shahar Friedman (TAU), Lior Schain (TAU), Dror Frid (TAU), Tommy Winetraub (TAU), Yoad Yahalom Weiss (BIU), Michael Glasner (WIS), Uri Kreitner (WIS) won first prizes.

Congratulations to all winners! We hope that this beautiful tradition will continue.

The teams of Tel-Aviv University, the Weizmann Institute and the Technion were generously supported by StarkWare, an Israeli software company specializing in math-based blockchain technology.

The IMU's thanks are extended to the team leaders: Alexander Tolesnikov, Dan Carmon, Guy Kapon, and Rom Pinchasi who accompanied the students and helped them do their best. We would also like to thank Dan Carmon, who is an employee of StarkWare, for initiating the connection between StarkWare and the teams, to all the employees of StarkWare for their generous support which helped the teams to perform so well.

Here you can find more details about the competition:

https://www.imc-math.org.uk/?year=2022&item=info

List of winners:

https://www.imc-math.org.uk/?act=results&by=sum&year=2022&onl=3

Ranking of participating teams:

https://www.imc-math.org.uk/?act=teams&year=2022

The IMU is happy to announce the winners of the Erdos, Levitzki and Nessayahu prizes for 2022:

The Anna and Lajos Erdos Prize in Mathematics:

Professor Wojciech Samotij, Tel-Aviv University
Professor Tomer Schlank, The Hebrew University in Jerusalem

The Charlotte and Jacob Levitzki Prize in Algebra:

Dr. Mark Shusterman, Harvard University

The Haim Nessayahu Prize in Mathematics for the best Ph.D. thesis:

Itay Glazer, the Weizmann Institute of Science Noam Lifshitz, the Hebrew University of Jerusalem

Congratulations to all winners!

The IMU extends its thanks to all members in all prize committees for their excellent work.

The Erdos and Levitzki prize winners will be invited to lecture on the <u>Annual Meeting of the IMU</u>, which will be held on September 19-th in Ben-Gurion University of the Negev. Please register for this meeting if you plan to attend! Participation is free, as is the food, and registration helps the IMU to estimate the number of meals we order.

Registration link: https://forms.gle/X7fMQqrkWqxDq5uZ6

Annual Meeting of the IMU website: https://www.imu.org.il/imu-meeting-2022

The Nessayahu prize winners have been invited to lecture on the **Students' talks day of the IMU**, which will take place one day after the annual meeting, on September 20-th, also in Ben-Gurion University. The objective of the students' talks day is to allow graduate and undergraduate mathematics students from all academic institutions in Israel to experience delivering a mathematical talk in public. The organizer of the event is Professor Nathan Keller of Bar-Ilan, who will head a committee that will award financial prizes to up to three outstanding students' talks. Please encourage your students to seize this valuable opportunity to submit a talk and maybe also win a financial award, and encourage all students to attend. Participation is free, but here too registration is required to assist the IMU order the right number of (free) lunches.

Registration: https://forms.gle/GPaHNwHkVFb3d1Y69

Students' talk day website: https://www.imu.org.il/student-talks-day-2022

Sincerely yours, Menachem Kojman, President of the IMU